free counters

About qvictoria

A collector of Victorian photographs for many a long year. I'm interested in both the individual photographs and the studio advertising on the 'backs' of the images, Victorian graphic design at its most varied and interesting. My collection of "cartes de visite" photographs is housed in plastic pockets within a series of albums, numerically arranged in order as they are acquired. There are now roughly 3000 photographers and images in all. I use directories, newspapers and genealogical information to research the life and work of each photographer and their studio but there aren't enough hours in the day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. Thomas T. Mier says:

    I, too, collect photographer trade cards, also known here in the US as photographer’s backmarks or backstamps. Have a few dozen duplicates for trtade. Interested in trading ?
    Tom Mier Katy, Texas, USA

    • qvictoria says:

      Yes, I’ve got duplicates too. Could you scan in the backs so that I can check them out? Thanks

      Christine Hibbert – Watch the Birdie blog

      • Thomas T. Mier says:

        How strange ! I just traded some CDV backmarks yesterday to an antique dealer for a small panoramic photo of priests. Panoramic photos are one of my main collecting interests so I had to have the photo.

        I’ll check my cabinet cards to determine if there are duplicates. Any dupes I find
        I’ll just send to you free of charge.

        Do you have a ‘for sale’ list, or do you sell on ebay ? It’s been 2-3 years since I
        sold on ebay but I buy there constantly.

        I prefer to buy directly from collectors such as yourself with a fixed price in mind.
        I see many of your backmarks that I don’t have and would like to acquire them.
        Not just a scan but the photo card itself.

        Best regards,
        Tom Mier

Comments are closed.